The Catholic Education Commission Tasmania (CECT) is appointed by the Archbishop of Hobart.

Good governance requires working toward common ground.

— Pete Hoeskstra

Catholic Education Commission Tasmania

˴Ƭ operates under the governance authority of the Catholic Education Commission Tasmania (CECT) and its four permanent Standing Committees:

  • Catholic Identity & Evangelisation
  • Education
  • People & Culture
  • Resources & Sustainability

The CECT is the overarching governance body commissioned by the Archbishop to advise on education policy and issues in the Archdiocese of Hobart in accordance with the Archbishop’s direction as well as the doctrines and laws of the Church. The CECT is delegated with oversight of their operational arm, Catholic Education Tasmania (CET), in the development of strategic planning and policy making.

CECT's Resources and Sustainability Standing Committee (RSSC) has oversight of the College’s funding, financial and capital areas.

St Patrick's College Board

The Board is the key consultative and advisory body to support the College Principal in local strategic planning, policy and operational matters. 

Within the parameters of canon and civil law, the policies and practices of the Archdiocese of Hobart, the CECT and the CET, the College Board has the following responsibilities in support of the leadership of the Principal:

  •  Promote the Catholic identity and evangelising mission of the school;
  • Develop the College vision, mission and strategic plan;
  • Develop College-level policies as appropriate;
  • Support the development of the College budget and the monitoring of the financial sustainability of the College;
  • Ensure that the approved processes of review and monitoring of educational outcomes are implemented; and
  • Assist in collaboration, consultation and building of partnerships with local parishes, the parents and the broader community.

The 2023 St Patrick's College Board membership is:

  • Chair - Mr Simon McInerney
  • Vice Chair - Dr Daniel Aras
  • Treasurer - Mrs Bianca Dowde
  • Secretary - Ms Mandy Tennant (Senior Executive Assistant - by invitation)


  • Mrs Liz Illingworth (Principal - Ex-Officio)
  • Sr Elizabeth Vagg (Ex-Officio)
  • Fr Ben Brooks (Ex-Officio)
  • Ms Karen Cole (Business Manager - by invitation)
  • Mr David Chambers 
  • Mrs Maree Wright
  • Mrs Monika Caplin
  • Mrs Linda Rose
  • Mr Stephen Noone

2023 Board Members

Back Row (L-R):  Mr S McInerney (Chair), Mrs M Caplin, Mrs B Dowde (Treasurer),  Mrs M Wright, Dr D Aras (Deputy Chair)
Front Row (L-R): Mr S Noone, Mr D Chambers, Mrs L Illingworth, Mrs L Rose, Sr E Vagg, Fr B Brooks
Absent: Ms K Cole, Ms S Cunliffe (Secretary)